American Academy of Appellate Lawyers
American Academy of Appellate Lawyers American Academy of Appellate Lawyers
eisenberg prize
directory of fellows
calendar of events
about AAAL
eisenberg prize
kathleen mccree lewis award
members only
contact us
Print Page

The Eisenberg Prize


For best article on appellate practice and procedure that was published in
a law review or similar publication between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014 as
determined by The American Academy of Appellate Lawyers.

The American Academy of Appellate Lawyers, a professional organization of selected lawyers who specialize in appellate practice, sponsors an award named for the late Howard B. Eisenberg, Dean of the Marquette University Law School and an early member of the AAAL. The purpose of the award is to recognize encourage publication of high-quality articles in the field of appellate practice and procedure.

2012-2013 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Richard A. Posner: Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; Senior Lecturer, University of Chicago Law School Judicial Opinions and Appellate Advocacy in Federal Courts - One Judge's Views published in Duquesne Law Review (Winter 2013)

Past Winners Include:

2011-2012: Professor Joan Steinman, Chicago-Kent School of Law, Appellate Courts as First Responders: The Constitutionality & Propriety of Appellate Courts' Resolving Issues in the First Instance published in 87 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1521 (April 2012)

2010-2011: Aaron R. Petty, The Hidden Harmony of Appellate Jurisdiction, by Aaron R. Petty, published at 62 So. Carolina L. Rev. 353 (Winter 2010)

2009-2010: Jennifer L. Sheppard, Associate Professor of Law, Mercer University School of Law, Once Upon a Time, Happily Ever After, and in a Galaxy Far, Far Away: Using Narrative to Fill the Cognitive Gap Left by Overrelliance on Pure Logic in Appellate Briefs and Motion Memoranda

2008-2009: Professor Beth Thornburg, SMU Dedman School of Law, The Curious Appellate Judge: Ethical Limits on Independent Research.

2007-2008: Assoc. Professor Adam N. Steinman, University of Cincinnati College of Law, Reinventing Appellate Jurisdiction, 48 B.C. L. REV. 1237 (2007).

2005-2006: Professors Michael E. Solimine and Rafael Gely, University of Cincinnati College of Law, The Supreme Court and the DIG: An Empirical and Institutional Analysis, 2005 WIS. L. REV. 1421.

2004-2005: Professor Joan Steinman, Chicago-Kent School of Law, Irregulars: The Appellate Rights of Persons Who Are Not Full-Fledged Parties, 39 GA. L. REV. 411 (2005).

2003-2004: Ass't. Professor Chad M. Oldfather, Oklahoma City University Law School, Appellate Courts, Historical Facts, and the Civil-Criminal Distinction, 57 VAND. L. REV. 437 (2004).

Those who would like to enter an article in the 2013-2014 competition should send it to the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers, 9707 Key West Avenue, Suite 100, Rockville, MD 20850 or by email, with a post mark or email date no later than Friday, July 18, 2014.

For further information, you may call the Academy office at (240) 404-6498.

2009 - 2010 Article Winner
2008 - 2009 Article Winner
2007 - 2008 Article Winner
2005 - 2006 Article Winner
2004 - 2005 Article Winner
2003 - 2004 Article Winner

15245 Shady Grove Road, suite 130, Rockville, MD 20850 - P: 301.258.9210 - F: 301.990.9771 - Email:
Disclaimer Privacy Policy